National Working Groups

National Working Groups

National Working Groups

National Working Groups (NWGs) have been constituted in TEC that are conterminous with ITU-T’s Study Group (SG). Each NWG has been constituted in TEC under the chairmanship of Sr. DDG/ DDGs with members as the stakeholders from industry, academia, government, research organizations etc. The objective of the NWGs is to contribute to ITU activities keeping in view the interests of Indian Telecom Sector. The NWGs build consensus and harmonize the interests of various stakeholders and proactively make necessary contributions for the study group of ITU. NWGs have been constituted with the participation of all the stakeholders like service providers, manufacturers associations, other sectoral members, academia in addition to the members of TEC, DOT, CDOT, Govt. PSUs, etc. NWGs are corresponding with the study groups of ITU-T for uniform working. The NWGs are constituted for four years.

The NWGs consists of a Management Group and members. Working Parties (WPs) are formed based on specific needs of the NWGs. Management Group (MG) consists of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson and one Convenor for coordination of the NWG activities. The Management Group manages, monitors and drives the NWG. The main functions of the Management Group are as given below: -

1. Prepare action plan with milestones for the NWG.

2. Prepare the methodology for the performance measurement/ assessment of the NWG.

3. Distribute the activities among the NWG members.

4. Constitute the working parties and other structures.

5. Call the monthly meetings and issue minutes of the meetings.

6. Quarterly reports to senior management.

7. Guide and cause contributions of the individual members/ groups and ensure contributions are submitted in a given timeframe to ITU

8. Review the contributions of NWG

The chairmen of the present NWGs in TEC are as given below: -

S.No. Name of the NWG Corresponding Study Group Activities Chairman
1 NWG 2 ITU-T SG 2 Operational aspects of Service provision and Telecommunication Management DDG (RC)
2 NWG 3 ITU-T SG 3 Tariff and Accounting Principles and international telecommunication/ICT economic and policy issues Member(F) DoT
3 NWG 5 ITU-T SG 5 Environment and circular economy DDG (R)
3 NWG 9 ITU-T SG 9 Broadband Cable and TV DDG (C&B)
4 NWG 11 ITU-T SG 11 Protocols and test Specifications DDG (TC)
5 NWG 12 ITU-T SG 12 Performance, QoS and QoE DDG(FN)
6 NWG 13 ITU-T SG 13 Future Networks and emerging network technologies DDG (MT)
7 NWG 15 ITU-T SG 15 Transport, Access and Home DDG (FA)
8 NWG 16 ITU-T SG 16 Multimedia and related digital technologies DDG (IT)
9 NWG 17 ITU-T SG 17 Security DDG (TS)
10 NWG 20 ITU-T SG 20 IoT, smart cities & communities DDG(IoT)
11 NSG 5 ITU-R SG 5 Radiocommunication Sr DDG & Head, TEC